When bad got worse! (Super short story)

Standard
Nisha’s one hand was firmly lapping her handbag and the other one holding her good friend Preetha’s hand, at the hospital.  Her mom, who meant the world to her, was in a critical condition.  Her dad had passed away  two years ago.   This was getting unmanageable.  
She decided to confide to Preetha  “I know what to do tonight.  I would be blissfully asleep.  I cant handle this anymore.  I need rest physically and emotionally” Sob, sob…….Sniff, sniff “ I have got the dope in my bag here.  Dangerous  stuff.  But I will moderate it.  At the least this would help me rest and forget everything else.”    Preetha did not push it further.  Am not going to let her do this.  Nisha doesn’t deserve this.  She should be strong.  After all, there are people going through even worse situations!”
In the silence of that night, the pills were popped in one by one.  Preetha was slowly drifting into a world of her own.
“After all, there are people going through even worse situations!”
Leave a Reply

